Board of Trustees

The UCAR Board of Trustees are elected by the Members Representatives at the UCAR Annual Members Meeting each October. The Trustees determine the overall direction of the corporation. They discharge their fiduciary responsibilities at their regularly scheduled meetings, and through a set of committees that recommend actions regarding UCAR scientific appointment, financial management, and audit matters.

 Officers of the Corporation


Roberta Balstad
Vice Chair Eric Betterton
Secretary Everette Joseph
Treasurer Kelly Fox
Assistant Secretaries Aneka Finley, (Director of Governance)
Meg McClellan (Chief Legal Officer)
Assistant Treasurers Kathryn Schmoll, (UCAR Vice President, Finance and Administration)
Dan Wilson, (UCAR Director of Treasury Operations)



Thomas Bogdan - President, UCAR
Jim Hurrell - Director, NCAR
Emily CoBabe-Ammann - Director, UCP
Kathryn Schmoll - Vice President, Finance and Administration
Meg McClellan - Chief Legal Officer

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees shall have and may exercise all the powers vested in the Board of Trustees during intervals between meetings of the Board unless the full Board of Trustees determines otherwise.

Chair Roberta Balstad
Members Eric Betterton
  Kelly Fox
  Rich Clark
  Everette Joseph
  Jerry Melillo
Members at large Thomas Bogdan
  Eric Barron

Scott Sternberg

Audit & Finance Committee

The Audit and Finance Committee is responsible for overseeing corporate financial management functions. The committee is also responsible for making recommendations to the Board regarding changes in financial management policies. The committee nominates a public accounting firm to carry out the annual audit of UCAR's financial positions and oversees UCAR's internal auditor.

Chair Kelly Fox
Members Tony Busalacchi
  Romy Olaisen
  Eric Barron
  Raphael Bras

Scott Sternberg

Board of Trustees Nominating Committee

The Board's Nominating Committee is appointed from among the current Trustees. Committee members are charged with appointing Trustees to standing Board committees and nominating officers of the corporation. The committee also appoints members of special committees of the Board as needed.

Chair Alan Robock
Members Vicki Arroyo
  Eric Barron

Rich Clark

NCAR Budget & Programs Committee

The NCAR Budget and Programs Committee provides guidance and oversight to NCAR and UCAR management for the development of the NCAR strategic plan and annual program plans.
Chair Rich Clark
Members Vicki Arroyo
  Eric Betterton
  Ken Bowman
  Donald DeHayes
  Kelly Fox
  Alan Robock
PACUR Alan Robock

Personnel Committee

The Personnel Committee is responsible for reviewing and recommending personnel policies. The committee monitors the development of effective affirmative action and safety programs. It is also responsible for reviewing each year the procedures followed during UCAR's annual salary review.

Chair Jerry Melillo
Members Fred Carr
  Janet Kozyra
  Everette Joseph
  Romy Olaisen

Gene Takle

For Board Members Only

Trustee login


Board of Trustees Calendar

Follow Us

Governance Contacts

Aneka Finley
Governance Liaison
+1 303.497.1655

Liz Marsis
Administrative Support
+1 303.497.1657